Semester 2 Newspaper Final

Screenshot 2016-05-15 at 4.42.02 PM

This was my first story of the semester, and I did not like it at all. Just generally, I don’t like writing for Discover – I think it’s too boring – so this story was just not fantastic. I feel like it was good for what it was, but I just didn’t feel like there was a lot I could have done with it. I feel like a story about dissections could have done better in Voice, where students express opinions over it as a controversial issue, but simply talking about the fact that they were happening was kind of boring to cover. Overall, it wasn’t a terrible story. I think I could have improved it by talking to more students, since most of it is quotes from Mr. Dauve and Mr. Reed; however, I did talk to a few students, and none  of them gave me great quotes. I did like the design for this page, and I feel like I did the best I could with what I had.

Screenshot 2016-05-15 at 4.50.44 PM

I absolutely loved writing this story. I think it probably helped that I picked it myself when the Fine Arts Festival story fell through, but I just loved this. It was one of those stories that basically just wrote itself for me because the people who I talked to were so enthusiastic about it, and it was a subject I was personally very interested in as someone with friends in the club. I feel like I did a really good job with writing this one; being about budget cuts, it had the potential to become very dry and bland, but I feel as though I managed to make it somewhat interesting. The page design definitely could have been better, but that was more of a space problem – my original draft of this story barely fit on the page without a headline, picture, or anything else to accompany it. This story means a lot to me personally as well because it really showed me how much influence journalism can have – Mrs. Hauquitz wrote me a “thank you” email for this one and mentioned in it that Scott Harris alluded to it when he told her they were not cutting Epsilon Beta’s funding. Although my story was probably not the deciding factor, the fact that it was acknowledged by Scott Harris was just a really cool moment for me as a reporter – I finally got to see my work have a real impact on real people, which is awesome. Overall, this story was one of my favorites this year to write, and I really truly enjoyed how it came out.

Screenshot 2016-05-15 at 5.07.18 PM

This story was awesome. I feel like this was probably the best story I wrote this semester – maybe it’s the fact that it’s about Mackenzie, since my best story from last semester was also about her. I loved writing this one; I got some great quotes from the people I interviewed, and it was very obvious how passionate they all are about this club. This whole story was just very fun and I thought an interesting topic to cover. I even loved the design of the page. One thing I probably could have improved would have just been including more about the club itself, which is what I wanted to do, but if I did, it would have been even longer than it is now. As is, I like the direction I took and I very much enjoyed the entire process of creating this story. It’s definitely one of my favorites from the year.

Screenshot 2016-05-16 at 6.59.03 PM

The teacher appreciation story was just a lot of fun to write. It was really cool to be able to do something for two teachers who have had an incredible impact on my life in the past few years. I just really enjoyed this opportunity and thought the writing that went along with it was pretty great as well.

Screenshot 2016-05-17 at 5.16.07 AM

I know what you’re thinking: Yikes. This page could have been so cool, but after an unfortunate mishap, it ended up being this. I swear, I had it finished – I just forgot to hit save. This was a really cool concept that just didn’t end up working out. I feel like it taught me a lot about design, though; it was my first design page, which was cool because one of my goals from last semester was to improve on my design skills. It’s just too bad that this was the final result.

Screenshot 2016-05-17 at 5.19.59 AM

This was a really fun page to do, just because I love coloring so much. While I didn’t do the design itself, I did write the blurb on the side, which I thought was pretty cool. I really enjoyed researching and writing it, and it was just a fun little project that I think ended up looking really cool.

Semester 2

I feel as though this semester as a whole was a great one. Looking back on my portfolio from last semester, I have improved a lot in both my writing and design skills, although I don’t think I wrote anything this year that could top my story for the December issue – a story for which I have now received two different awards. Everything I wrote this semester, though, I felt was very solid, and a good way to end the year. Next year, I hope to continue improving these skills, especially as an editor. My biggest area for improvement would probably be the amount of content I create, since I tended to stick more to the paper itself than the web this year. Overall, though, I feel as though I had a rather great year reporting-wise, and I had a lot of fun in this class. I’m excited to move forward and see how I can continue to improve into this upcoming year.

Leave a Reply

